The first step…on the road to Peru

The internet is a wonderful thing: it’s great for shopping around and buying stuff with ease, keeping your social network going and oodles of information…I’m sure there’s something else that the internet gets used for a lot…I just can’t think what the XXXX it is!  As with all great sources of information, you have to know what you are looking for and also what results to trust when you have searched.  Try goggling treks to Machu Picchu and you will see what I had to deal with.  There were about 5.5 million results.  Narrowing it down to tour companies that do treks to Machu Picchu still returns 3.8 million.  So, where to start?

I browsed through the first few results that were returned and I found a few itineraries that interested me and not all had flights included or optional.  I wanted to have the flights in with the deal if possible because I am lazy and I thought it would make things easier.  Although I found a lot of options and some that looked pretty good, none of them made me feel 100% that I was going to fill in my details and book it.  So, the trip remained un-booked.

I have never embarked on a trip of this kind: when I went to America I booked my flights out and back and my first hotel and then winged it.  This trip, to ensure I make what I feel is the most of it, I needed to plan it and know what I was planning.  Ideally, I would find a website that caters for this type of trip and have variations on that theme for me to choose from.  Luckily, whilst watching Sky Arts, a program sponsor was www.journeylatinamerica.co.uk

When I had a look at their site, it seemed to do just what I wanted, so I set about choosing my itinerary from their options.  I also decided to extend my stay in Peru a little.  I figure that it is not necessarily a place that I will return to again and again with ease, so making the most of my time there is the overriding policy.

 

This is the itinerary I have chosen in brief:

Fly to Lima, Peru & stay for 1 night.

Fly to Cusco & stay for 2 nights (includes city tour of Cusco & tour of Sascayhuaman ruins).

Excursion to the Sacred Valley.

The Inca trail to Machu Picchu.

Fly to Puerto Maldonado.

3 night stay in the Amazon rainforest (includes numerous excursions).

Fly to Lima & stay for 1 night.

Return flight to UK.

 

If none of it means a great deal to you, hopefully I will be able to expand upon them as I experience them.  Which leads me nicely to my next consideration: with a 4 day trek, possibly beyond phone connections, and travelling light a necessity, how in the world am I going to keep this blog going…?!

Leave a Reply

