Dude, where’s my car? – part two

The guy on the desk said I could choose any of the cars in Area 1.  Excellent!  Hopefully, there’ll be a Chrysler.  I’ve seen a lot of them around and it’s a model that can be bought in the UK and I think they look pretty cool.

I turned the corner and into Area 1.  A shiny white Chrysler was there!  It was the only car there.  It also had a couple putting their luggage into the trunk.

After a short wait another car was left by the staff ready for pick up.  It wasn’t a Chrysler.  Should I hold ou for another chance at a Chrysler?  Hmm, no.  I’ve got a 130 mile drive back to Palm Springs and I only really have the car for a week or so.  I’ll take it.

It’s a Dodge Caliber.  It’s red.  I get in and set up all of my stuff: seat position, mirrors, sat nav, Jesus picture, Alfredo Garcia ornament, ipod.  I catch sight of the car in the reflection of a shiny car in Area 2.  It dawns on me:  I’m sat in a car trying to do an impression of the car with no name.

It is the same and yet different.  Like a police sketch artists impression of a suspect.  It seems to want to be the new car with no name.  But it already has a name…The Impostor.

The Impostor

 

One response to “Dude, where’s my car? – part two

  1. If your first car was KITT that this must surely be the evil doppleganger KATT…please don’t say that means you are now sporting a dodge tache and goatee like the doppelganger Hoff did!

    I did worry that this story was going to turn out like that scene from Planes, Trains and Automobiles…thankfully it did not.

Leave a Reply

