It’s Bio-Week in San Diego!

Apparently, it’s Bio-Week in San Diego.  No, I didn’t know what that meant either.  There’s a Bio-Technology convention at the convention centre in downtown.  I’m still no clearer on what it’s about, but it does mean that the gaslight area nearby is full of people wearing name badges and passes round their necks.

The gaslight area has bars, shops & restaurants all over, what seems like, a 5 or 6 square block area.  All pretty good were I staying around there.  I’m not.

I’m out on an area called the hotel circle.  It’s only about a 15 minute drive away from downtown, so I’m not really complaining.  It’s just a bit annoying to see hotels that are much more conveniently placed.

San Diego has a huge Naval base on it and it’s no surprise to hear that it used to be a much rougher port city than it is now.  These days, it’s very nice, with lots of new developments, including the convention centre and the Hard Rock Hotel (partially interior designed by the Black Eyed Peas!).

I’ve pretty much just been chilling.  I drove as near to the border with Mexico as I dare.  I didn’t want to accidentally end up in Mexico!

I plan to go to the zoo tomorrow (there could be a song in that!).  Or I might attend the lecture on Genetically Modified Animals and Public Health – I bet it’s a belter!

One response to “It’s Bio-Week in San Diego!

  1. At least it wasn’t Scott Baio week

Leave a Reply

