Driving In America

the car with no name

  I’ve covered over 1000 miles in 3 days, so I’m already building an emotional bond with it.  It’s a Jeep Compass and, although I think it looks quite chunky (what’s that you say about cars looking like their drivers?), it’s dwarfed by most things on the road.  I’m not one of those people who gives their car a name, so at the moment it remains a car with no name.  Who knows?  In another 1000 miles it may have a name and a whole back story! 

It’s a good thing that I have a companion on this journey.  She is my Sat Nav system.  I can call her “she”, as she has a female voice (she also has an English accent).  She is a godsend and I would not have managed to get anywhere without her.

We will be spending a lot of time in each other’s company, as I have a lot of driving ahead of me.  I’ve planned a very rough route with main stop offs (though there will be loads inbetween) of:

  • Memphis
  • Nashville
  • Chicago
  • Rapid City
  • Cheyenne
  • Denver
  • Salt Lake City
  • San Francisco
  • Los Angeles
  • Las Vegas
  • San Diego

I’m also trying to keep track of the states that I’ve passed through and I have created a bizarre ritual of shouting “wahoo!” whenever I enter a new state…yes, I know, it sounds like I’ve entered a state of mental illness!

Each place has things either in it or around it for me to see, so I expect it will take me a almost a month to get to LA.

The scenery from Key Largo to Tallahassee and then on to New Orleans was not exactly amazing, but the novelty of travelling in another country held fast.  The approach to New Orleans was spectacular though! 

Leave a Reply

